A.V. Club Most Read

News Newswire Great Job, Internet!
TV Club All Reviews What's On Tonight
Video All Video A.V. Undercover A.V. Cocktail Club Film Club
Reviews All Reviews Film TV Music Books
Features All Features Game Review TV Club
Sections Film Tv Music Food Comedy Books Games Aux
Our Company About Us Contact Advertise Privacy Policy Careers RSS
Onion Inc. Sites The Onion The A.V. Club ClickHole Onion Studios
Get The Latest

Jeff Lynne celebrates ELO's 40th anniversary by re-recording new versions of old songs

In 1971, future dads everywhere grooved to the strange sounds of The Electric Light Orchestra. Forty years later, ELO frontman Jeff Lynne has re-recorded some of ELO’s greatest hits for dads both old and new to enjoy. On Oct. 9, Lynne will release Mr. Blue Sky—The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra, as well as a solo album of rock 'n' roll standards.

In a press release, Lynne explains his motivation for redoing his classic songs, saying, “I’m not saying the old versions aren’t good; I like them very much. We were doing our best, but experience and technology also play a big part, and these new ones sound much more solid and tight.” How exactly the songs were changed during this re-recording is unclear, but, as the industry saying goes, “If it ain’t broke, fix it anyway so you can repackage it as new content.” Judge whether these songs warrant another purchase by perusing the tracklisting below.

Lynne’s next solo album, Long Wave—in which he similarly re-records a tribute to his favorite rock 'n' roll songs from the '50s and '60s—will also be released Oct. 9.

Mr. Blue Sky—The Very Best Of Electric Light Orchestra:
1. Mr. Blue Sky
2. Evil Woman
3. Strange Magic
4. Don’t Bring Me Down
5. Turn To Stone
6. Showdown
7. Telephone Line
8. Livin’ Thing
9. Do Ya
10. Can’t Get It Out Of My Head
11. 10538 Overture
12. The Point Of No Return

Long Wave
1. She
2. If I Loved You
3. So Sad
4. Mercy, Mercy
5. Running Scared
6. Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered
7. Smile
8. At Last
9. Love Is A Many Splendored Thing
10. Let It Rock
11. Beyond The Sea

Submit your Newswire tips here.