A.V. Club Most Read

News Newswire Great Job, Internet!
TV Club All Reviews What's On Tonight
Video All Video A.V. Undercover A.V. Cocktail Club Film Club
Reviews All Reviews Film TV Music Books
Features All Features TV Club Newswire
Sections Film Tv Music Food Comedy Books Games Aux
Our Company About Us Contact Advertise Privacy Policy Careers RSS
Onion Inc. Sites The Onion The A.V. Club ClickHole Onion Studios
Get The Latest

Metallica, The Flaming Lips, Iron Maiden, and Chickenfoot to appear on new Deep Purple tribute album

A month after Deep Purple founding member Jon Lord died, a tribute to the band’s 1972 album Machine Head has been announced. Re-Machined: A Tribute To Machine Head features Metallica, The Flaming Lips, Iron Maiden, Chickenfoot, Carlos Santana, and members of Red Hot Chili Peppers, Guns N’ Roses, and Def Leppard. The record comes out Sept. 25 on Eagle Rock Entertainment, and features not one, but two covers of "Smoke On The Water." The Flaming Lips' version is below.

Re-Machined: A Tribute To Machine Head tracklist
1. Carlos Santana—Smoke On The Water
2. Chickenfoot—Highway Star
3. Glenn Hughes, Chad Smith, and Luis Maldonado—Maybe I’m A Leo
4. Black Label Society—Pictures Of Home
5. Kings Of Chaos (Joe Elliott, Steve Stevens, Duff McKagan, Matt Sorum, And Arlan Schierbaum)—Never Before
6. The Flaming Lips—Smoke On The Water
7. Jimmy Barnes And Joe Bonamassa—Lazy
8. Iron Maiden—Space Truckin’
9. Metallica—When A Blind Man Cries
10. Glenn Hughes, Steve Vai, Chad Smith, And Lachlan Doley—Highway Star

Submit your Newswire tips here.