A.V. Club Most Read

News Newswire Great Job, Internet!
TV Club All Reviews What's On Tonight
Video All Video A.V. Undercover A.V. Cocktail Club Film Club
Reviews All Reviews Film TV Music Books
Features All Features Wiki Wormhole AVQ&A
Sections Film Tv Music Food Comedy Books Games Aux
Our Company About Us Contact Advertise Privacy Policy Careers RSS
Onion Inc. Sites The Onion The A.V. Club ClickHole Onion Studios
Get The Latest

This Slasher #1 exclusive kicks off a chilling psychosexual thriller (NSFW)

Image: Floating World Comics
Image: Floating World Comics

Cartoonist Charles Forsman has built his reputation on unsettling, evocative stories exploring personal trauma, misanthropy, and self-discovery, constantly pushing himself to dig deeper into the tangled emotions that drive self-destructive behavior. After breaking out with his 2013 graphic novel The End Of The Fucking World (currently in development as a TV series for the U.K.’s Channel 4), Forsman has told stories about drug-addled introspection (Celebrated Summer) and a badass, tortured urban vigilante (Revenger). With his new project from Floating World Comics, Slasher, Forsman is crafting a psychosexual thriller in the vein of Brian De Palma and David Cronenberg, detailing the twisted relationship that develops between a data-entry specialist in her early ’20s, Christina, and a terminal teenage boy, Jack, she meets online.

This exclusive preview of April’s Slasher #1 introduces this disturbing friendship, beginning with Christina masturbating to a clip Jack has posted on a porn video-sharing site of him dragging a knife across his tongue. From there, Forsman delves into Jack’s stifling home life with his overprotective mother, building tension with a text conversation that has Christina and Jack fantasizing about how they can kill the authority figures in each other’s lives. Forsman’s 8-panel grid layout for the scenes with Jack and his mother creates a cramped, prison-like atmosphere, but once he puts on the gimp mask Christina sends him, the layouts open up to create a sense of freedom as he takes a picture of his new gift. Readers can discover more about these two characters when Slasher #1 hits stands on April 26, but in the meanwhile, here’s a taste of Forsman’s disquieting story.

Image: Floating World Comics
Image: Floating World Comics
Image: Floating World Comics
Image: Floating World Comics
Image: Floating World Comics
Image: Floating World Comics
Image: Floating World Comics

Submit your Newswire tips here.