This Sunday, livechat the Oscars with The A.V. Club

This Sunday, livechat the Oscars with The A.V. Club

Like just about any awards show, the Oscars are best experienced in a group setting, where catty red-carpet remarks and wisecracks about the host’s wisecracks won’t fall on deaf ears. But what if the love seat in your living room only seats two? What if you only have enough Fritos to feed yourself and an additional relative who already had dinner so he’ll just have a couple? Never fear! Thanks to the wonders of the Internet, we can all complain about the endless montages and bad Gravity quips together, but without the hassle of actually, you know, getting together.

Just as we did with the Emmys, the Grammys, and the Golden Globes, the A.V. Club staff will be live-chatting this year’s Academy Awards ceremony. Anyone with a web connection and a passing interest in Hollywood patting itself on the back can join in on the fun, through one of two methods:

1. Head over here after 8 p.m. eastern/7 p.m. central on Sunday night to follow the official A.V. Club livechat, where you can mix it up with the site’s writers using CoverItLive. Some sure-to-be-witty remarks will also be culled from Twitter, thanks to the…

2. The #avctv hashtag. No, this isn’t a TV-related event. But most of us will be watching the ceremony on a television, as did our fathers, and their fathers before that, and maybe one more generation of fathers. Also, many of your favorite TV Club writers will weigh in, possibly to grumble about how much better True Detective is than Dallas Buyers Club.

The show kicks off at 8:30 p.m. eastern/7:30 p.m. central, but the livechat will begin a half-hour earlier—because, as everyone knows, the Oscars can’t begin until at least one excitable E! reporter makes a celebrity uncomfortable.

More Live Chat