Bishop Allen: The Broken String

A.V. Club Most Read

Bishop Allen: The Broken String


Bishop Allen

Album: The Broken String
Label: Dead Oceans

Community Grade

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


Like fellow indie tunesmiths Stephin Merritt and Sufjan Stevens, Bishop Allen's Justin Rice and Christian Rudder get inspired by forcing themselves to be prolific. Last year the Harvard-bred duo put aside its belated follow-up to 2003's self-released Charm School and set about recording a different EP each month. Bishop Allen ended up with four albums worth of new material, and The Broken String is a greatest hits sampler of sorts, with nine reworked tracks from the EPs plus a handful of new songs. And it really is great, striding confidently from one high point to the next, with expansive yet homemade-sounding folk-rock songs like "Click, Click, Click, Click" and "Corazon" oozing scruffily charming earnestness. Sometimes quality and quantity can coexist nicely.