A.V. Club Most Read

News Newswire Great Job, Internet!
TV Club All Reviews What's On Tonight
Video All Video A.V. Undercover A.V. Cocktail Club Film Club
Reviews All Reviews Film TV Music Books
Features All Features Great Job, Internet! Newswire
Sections Film Tv Music Food Comedy Books Games Aux
Our Company About Us Contact Advertise Privacy Policy Careers RSS
Onion Inc. Sites The Onion The A.V. Club ClickHole Onion Studios

Björk: Homogenic

Album: Homogenic
Label: Elektra

Community Grade (6 Users)

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


Since leaving The Sugarcubes, Björk has never really bothered with redundancy, unpredictably dabbling in accessibly quirky pop ("Army Of Me"), cloyingly cutesy schmaltz ("It's Oh So Quiet"), and an entire album of electronic remixes and re-recordings that border on reinventions (this year's Telegram). On the new Homogenic, Björk stumbles trying to combine those three approaches, often forgetting to create memorable songs in the process. Her boisterous, torchy vocals, for all their volume and force, are somehow buried in electronic blipping, blooping and rumbling, not to mention layers of strings, horns, organs and effects. Björk's voice swoops and coos and gurgles and snarls, the way it always does, but on songs like "5 Years," she never really allows herself to make a statement amid all the clamor. It's not that there aren't viscerally entertaining sounds in here—"Pluto" is a heart-poundingly wicked, electronics-driven stunner—but there isn't much substance to go with the flash. Homogenic is stylish enough, and it's as restlessly creative as you'd expect, but the album rarely gives Björk's songs a chance to assert themselves.