Frightened Rabbit: Sing The Greys

A.V. Club Most Read

Frightened Rabbit: Sing The Greys


Frightened Rabbit

Album: Sing The Greys
Label: Fatcat

Community Grade (4 Users)

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


Between the 2007 U.S. releases of The Twilight Sad's Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters and Frightened Rabbit's Sing The Greys, it's evident that the never-recessing, ever-reloading Glasgow indie scene is once again an epicenter of vibrant, inventive guitar-rock. Frightened Rabbit's debut feels less conceptually focused than The Twilight Sad's, but Sing The Greys sounds more urgent and tuneful, setting Scott Hutchison's boyish brogue against bashing rhythms and sputtering guitar. Frightened Rabbit relies on repetition and declaration, be it the insistent chanting of "Music Now" or Hutchison's comment in "Yawns" that "when she yawns she tells me the truth." That's "truth" as understood by young folks in thin-walled practice spaces, counting on volume to beat back the chill.