A.V. Club Most Read

News Newswire Great Job, Internet!
TV Club All Reviews What's On Tonight
Video All Video A.V. Undercover A.V. Cocktail Club Film Club
Reviews All Reviews Film TV Music Books
Features All Features Newswire Coming Distractions
Sections Film Tv Music Food Comedy Books Games Aux
Our Company About Us Contact Advertise Privacy Policy Careers RSS
Onion Inc. Sites The Onion The A.V. Club ClickHole Onion Studios

Girls: Album



Album: Album
Label: True Panther

Community Grade (10 Users)

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


That Christopher Owens’ backstory doesn’t eclipse his songs is a testament to his gift. The vocalist and lyricist behind the San Francisco duo Girls grew up in the twisted arms of the Children Of God cult, an upbringing resulting in a serious disconnect from the good things in life. Which is why it makes sense that much of his golden-era, Californian pop songs are about things like wanting to kiss the girl, or holding on tight to reasons for smiling. 

The album-opening “Lust For Life” is a playfully strummed, conversational trip down a wishlist of sorts (pizza, father, sanity, beach house, fresh start). It’s also a perfect, devastatingly honest song played out in a clinical two and a half minutes. With “Hellhole Ratrace” Owens and bassist Chet “J.R.” White sublimate a diary page into a seven-minute pill trip/epic manifesto. Though moving, it also recycles a chord progression heard previously in “Ghostmouth.” Elsewhere, “Morning Light” repeat offends, coming across like a carbon copy of Sonic Youth’s “Mote.” In that light, it’s better to approach Album not as what its title offers, but a collection of singles. These are the new rock ’n’ roll 45s, variations of the same sad pop song shone through the prism of a guy who’s survived his own unique heartache.