Jesse Harris: Feel

A.V. Club Most Read

Jesse Harris: Feel


Jesse Harris

Album: Feel
Label: Velour Music Group

Community Grade

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


Over the course of Jesse Harris' first six albums, the New York pop-folk staple has made casualness a virtue, piecing together songs with just a few idly played instruments and his own hummy melodies, plucked from the sky and tugged gently to Earth. On album number seven, Feel, Harris aims for more complexity and more cohesion, as he dabbles in the exotic rhythms of Brasilia and Afro-beat, taking what he needs without producing mere homage. But Harris doesn't lose the light, relaxed tone. Right after firing up Feel's cascading title track with a surprisingly raw electric-guitar solo, Harris cools down with "I Don't Mind," a mellow reprise that returns to the simple pleasure of coasting.