A.V. Club Most Read

News Newswire Great Job, Internet!
TV Club All Reviews What's On Tonight
Video All Video A.V. Undercover A.V. Cocktail Club Film Club
Reviews All Reviews Film TV Music Books
Features All Features TV Club Newswire
Sections Film Tv Music Food Comedy Books Games Aux
Our Company About Us Contact Advertise Privacy Policy Careers RSS
Onion Inc. Sites The Onion The A.V. Club ClickHole Onion Studios

Jónsi: From The Motion Picture We Bought A Zoo 



Album: From The Motion Picture We Bought A Zoo
Label: Columbia

Community Grade (2 Users)

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


There’s a grandiose element to the music of Sigur Rós that seems appropriate for movie soundtracks. At least Cameron Crowe seems to think so, having used the band on the Vanilla Sky soundtrack and now enlisting singer Jónsi Birgisson to score his latest film, We Bought A Zoo. The soundtrack features four previously released songs (three by Jónsi, one by Sigur Rós) as well as two new Jónsi songs and over a half-hour of new instrumentals. The new songs take their cues from the compact symphonies of Jónsi’s solo effort Go rather than the majestic sprawl of his band, with the same tinkling pianos layered with sunny chimes, Nico Muhly’s swirling strings, and ghostly vocal echoes. The result is a whirling, vibrant collection of songs and instrumental snippets that flow together well, the new music holding up beside the old. 

Of the two new songs, “Ævin Endar” is the gentler, hushed effort while “Gathering Stories” is a typically soaring, condensed Jónsi epic. The downside of the We Bought A Zoo soundtrack is that the wide scope so often present in Jónsi’s music is limited because much of the new music is fragmented, serving a cinematic purpose but falling short of full-fledged musical works. Still, with Sigur Rós’ hiatus over and the success of Go, this collection stands as a fine next step in Jónsi’s evolving career.