A.V. Club Most Read

News Newswire Great Job, Internet!
TV Club All Reviews What's On Tonight
Video All Video A.V. Undercover A.V. Cocktail Club Film Club
Reviews All Reviews Film TV Music Books
Features All Features To-Do List Newswire
Sections Film Tv Music Food Comedy Books Games Aux
Our Company About Us Contact Advertise Privacy Policy Careers RSS
Onion Inc. Sites The Onion The A.V. Club ClickHole Onion Studios

Ke$ha: Warrior



Album: Warrior
Label: RCA

Community Grade (41 Users)

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


Ke$ha never had a chance to be considered a credible artist: The debauched tone of her first single, “Tik Tok,” led detractors to brand her as nothing more than a vapid party girl puking up last night’s glitter. This pigeonholing lingered even though subsequent tunes “We R Who We R” (cheerleader-pop with robotic grooves) and “Your Love Is My Drug” (Swedish pop with an ’80s chaser) proved her pop-star mettle and staying power. 

Perhaps being consistently underestimated explains why Warrior, Ke$ha’s second album, occasionally feels vengeful. The title track is a surging call for revolution with zippered electro zaps and choppy digital effects, while the scathing “Thinking Of You” eviscerates a former crush (“Found out you were full of it / I’m over it, so suck my dick”) by alternating between harsh rock drums and a swaying pop chorus with trilling vocals. During “Crazy Kids,” meanwhile, Ke$ha establishes dual personalities: On the acoustic guitar-driven choruses, she’s sweet and melancholy as she reveals her insanity; on the electronic-dipped verses, she unloads snappy hip-hop boasts (“I’m no virgin or no Virgo / I’m crazy that’s my word, though”) to assert herself. 

Of course, writing quality tunes is the best revenge on any haters. And although Warrior has no shortage of modern techno-pop songs espousing endless love and/or long, magical nights (“Wherever You Are,” “Die Young,” “C’Mon”), the album takes some bold musical risks. The soul-strut “Dirty Love” is a gloriously unhinged duet with Iggy Pop that finds Ke$ha unleashing her inner Broadway cabaret singer, while the gooey, ’70s-piano-pop ballad “Wonderland” survives (and even thrives) on the strength of her Nashville-esque vocal delivery. And if the guitar-heavy “Only Wanna Dance With You” resembles The Strokes’ peppy garage-rock, well, it’s because that band’s Julian Casablancas and Fab Moretti appear on the song.

Those who already loathe Ke$ha probably won’t find Warrior any more endearing than her past work. (Not that she’d care—if anything, the singer seems galvanized by polarized reactions.) But anyone up for giving her a second chance—or recognizing she has actual singing, writing, and performing talent—just might be pleasantly surprised.