Lykke Li: Youth Novels

A.V. Club Most Read

Lykke Li: Youth Novels


Lykke Li

Album: Youth Novels
Label: Atlantic

Community Grade (3 Users)

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


On her full-length debut, Lykke Li sounds like she's been waiting to refashion the classical torch song her whole life. Youth Novels is all teasing and heartbreak, with production (from Peter Bjorn & John's Bjorn Yttling) that plays on empty spaces as much as well-chosen backing. Li's voice is spacier and breathier than her forebears': Her whisper floats in the upper registers, refusing virtuosity. She's lewder, too: The first single, "Little Bit," has her promising "for you I keep my legs apart," though the rhyme brings her back to a familiar image, a "tainted heart." Her suggestive instrumentation drives the songs home with minimal resources: "Little Bit" lives up to its name, using little more than a bassline and a time-keeping percussive section for the verses. It's a template of sparseness more or less followed throughout. Li wants to make an album, not just a series of future singles, which leads to ill-advised connective tissue: A spoken-word intro and "This Trumpet In My Head," a moody trumpet solo and acoustic guitar, are hardly as haunting as intended. Mostly, though, Li adeptly straddles the line between instant gratification and minimalist smarts.