A.V. Club Most Read

News Newswire Great Job, Internet!
TV Club All Reviews What's On Tonight
Video All Video A.V. Undercover A.V. Cocktail Club Film Club
Reviews All Reviews Film TV Music Books
Features All Features Great Job, Internet! Newswire
Sections Film Tv Music Food Comedy Books Games Aux
Our Company About Us Contact Advertise Privacy Policy Careers RSS
Onion Inc. Sites The Onion The A.V. Club ClickHole Onion Studios

Peaches: I Feel Cream




Album: I Feel Cream
Label: XL

Community Grade (3 Users)

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade


During the first half of the decade, Peaches was one of the vanguards of the then-raging electroclash scene, an MC/character given to foul-mouthed sexual frankness set atop minimal beats. Electroclash has since run its course, and the success of obvious Peaches progeny Lady Gaga has helped mainstream the performance-art antics that may have once alienated audiences. Peaches’ new I Feel Cream reflects that shift, dialing back on the depravity (relatively speaking) in favor of slickly produced, dance-focused jams whose accessibility comes at the expense of ingenuity. Album opener “Serpentine” sounds like a holdover from Peaches’ 2003 album Fatherfucker, but I Feel Cream makes its direction known with the standout second track “Talk To Me,” which does away with filthy rhymes in favor of howling vocals and a synth bassline that makes plain the involvement of producers Soulwax. Peaches is still far from family-friendly, especially when she teams up with Shunda K of Yo Majesty on “Billionaire,” and claims she “never goes to bed without a piece of raw meat” on “Trick Or Treat.” But overall, I Feel Cream feels subdued and safe, a less-than-inspiring move for an artist who made her name by being neither.