Steven Drozd: The Heart Is A Drum Machine (The Score)

Steven Drozd: The Heart Is A Drum Machine (The Score)

Share Tweet
Shop ▾

Steven Drozd

Album: The Heart Is A Drum Machine (The Score)
Label: Twinkle Cash Company

Community Grade

  • A
  • A-
  • B+
  • B
  • B-
  • C+
  • C
  • C-
  • D+
  • D
  • D-
  • F

Your Grade

Share Tweet
Shop ▾

The Heart Is A Drum Machine is a music documentary with a laundry list of notable interviewees, from film (Jason Schwartzman, Tim & Eric, Fairuza Balk, Elijah Wood) and music (Isaac Brock, Kimya Dawson, George Clinton, John Doe). The Heart Is A Drum Machine (The Score) is, of course, the music behind the movie, created by The Flaming Lips’ multi-instrumental genius, Steven Drozd. Its dozen tracks—all but one an instrumental—are about what you’d expect from the guy who helmed the spacey, vocals-free interstitial music of modern-day classics like The Soft Bulletin and Yoshimi Battles The Pink Robots, with similar track titles (“Quaalude Youth,” “Requiem For A Dying Star/Ode To A Twinkling New…”) to boot. The lone exception is a cover of Elton John’s “Rocket Man,” which features Tool/A Perfect Circle frontman Maynard James Keenan’s vocals accompanied by acoustic guitar and a trippy beat. Those who haven’t seen the movie and aren’t Flaming Lips superfans may find it hard to listen to this for fun. But as the soundtrack to a film exploring what music is and why it moves us, this record is a decided success.