Dick Grayson is back in blue and black with DC’s Nightwing

Dick Grayson represents a significant challenge to DC. He’s one of the oldest and most beloved characters in comics, the “Sensational Character Find of 1940” who became the most iconic teen sidekick in superhero history. He is also one of the only superhero characters to successfully transition from one…

The Story Of My Tits is so much more than a comic book about boobs

Don’t be fooled by the title of Jennifer Hayden’s The Story of My Tits (Top Shelf). Although, yes, much of the book is devoted to chronicling the life and times of the author’s titular (no pun intended, honest) breasts, there’s a lot more going on than “merely” a story of Hayden’s body parts. It would be more accurate…

Our favorite graphic novels, one-shots, and archives of 2015

Two stunning works by twin brothers. A biography of Adolf Hitler by a manga master. A first-person account of the civil rights movement from one of its key figures. A webcomic about race in superhero comics. These are just a few of the exemplary graphic novels, one-shots, and archive editions releases in 2015, and…

Our favorite ongoing and serial comics of 2015

2015 was a great year for readers to move away from Marvel and DC for exceptional monthly (or bi-monthly, or quarterly) comics. There were still some strong releases from the “Big Two,” but as Marvel and DC shook up their publishing line-ups with major events that sidelined regular titles, Image continued to exert its…

Starter stories: 5 comic-book store employees tell newbies where to begin

On Monday, we suggested where to get started with comics for those who haven’t yet sunk their teeth into the meaty medium. Today, we’re letting people who work in comic-book shops stump for their favorites. The only parameters are that the comics be widely available, so there’s nothing rare or hard to find on this…

Your own origin story: 21 comics to get newcomers hooked

Comics can be a scary, intimidating medium to an outsider. The breadth and depth of history, brands, universes, events, and movie and TV adaptations make getting into comics seem like more trouble than it’s worth. But take it from us, comics are well worth diving into, and you don’t need spend hours reading background…

Your patience will be rewarded with the atmospheric Arclight and surreal Stroppy

Fans of Kathryn and Stuart Immonen have been waiting quite some time for their next graphic novel collaboration: Moving Pictures came out almost five years ago and their other joint projects have been fairly short. Both Immonens have done work for Marvel during their time apart, Kathryn writing Runaways and the…

Drawn & Quarterly celebrates 25 years with some of the boldest voices in comics

In the 25 years since its creation, Drawn & Quarterly has grown from a small comics magazine into one of the industry’s top publishers, crafting impeccably designed titles by renowned cartoonists like Lynda Barry, Chester Brown, and Seth, along with works by some of the most exciting, provocative new talents in…

SuperMutant Magic Academy’s mundane magic offers a fresh take on Harry Potter

It is difficult to come up with fresh praise for Jillian Tamaki’s SuperMutant Magic Academy (Drawn & Quarterly). It is one of those widely acclaimed and reviewed works that makes you question what gushing praise or astute observation there is left to bestow upon it that hasn’t already been noted. Originally serialized…

Sexcastle galvanizes, Borb afflicts, and Southern Cross blasts off to the future

Can a person really change? It’s a common question in fiction, and Kyle Starks’ graphic novel Sexcastle (Image) explores it with a thrilling action plot about one assassin’s struggle to escape a life of violence. Shane Sexcastle is the “world’s greatest assassin,” but he decides to create a new identity for himself as…

Wytches feeds on fear, Snackies satisfies, and Mowgli’s Mirror reflects absurdity

Scott Snyder can sell books without anybody’s help. He’s built a reputation for storytelling that’s kept him in Batman books for years, to say nothing of the fans he’s earned with Swamp Thing and The Wake. But when the announcement came that he was working with previous partner-in-crime Jock on a new horror comic, the…