Advertisement

Look at The Incantations Of Daniel Johnston and it will look back

The Incantations Of Daniel Johnston (Two Dollar Radio) relates the story of the real-life cult musician and artist. The graphic novel begins with Johnston floating in his mother’s womb, moves to his Beatles’ obsession and him recording music in his garage, then hits the how-he-became-famous high notes: Johnston…

Self-published Check, Please! shows the value of a passion project

One of the best things about reading creator-owned comics is the clear care and love that goes into every page of content. Check, Please! (self published), a webcomic that’s gained a vocal and increasingly active fan base online, is one of the best examples of something so suffused with the creator’s joy and…

Thompson’s Space Dumplins delivers a stunning all-ages cosmic adventure

Before gaining international acclaim with his very serious graphic novels Blankets and Habibi, Craig Thompson indulged his sillier side by creating cute, strange comic strips for Nickelodeon Magazine, embracing a cartoonishly exaggerated aesthetic that he would move away from over time. His new all-ages graphic novel …

Your patience will be rewarded with the atmospheric Arclight and surreal Stroppy

Fans of Kathryn and Stuart Immonen have been waiting quite some time for their next graphic novel collaboration: Moving Pictures came out almost five years ago and their other joint projects have been fairly short. Both Immonens have done work for Marvel during their time apart, Kathryn writing Runaways and the…

Wonder Woman ’77’s strong art doesn’t make up for under-representing women

After an undefined apocalyptic event leaves an eerily human-free world and the Earth scorched and ruined, Simon, a tame dog, finally decides to leave his home and kennel to venture into the woods. His owners have been gone for a while and it doesn’t seem likely they’ll return. Some time on, Simon’s decided that he…

Suffrajitsu kicks ass, Fantasy Sports captivates, and Superman returns to form

During the battle for women’s voting rights in early 20th century England, suffragette leader Sylvia Pankhurst advised her followers to learn jiujitsu and start coming to meetings armed with sticks. “It is no use pretending,” she told The New York Times. “We have got to fight.” That factoid is the foundation of Tony…

Spider-Gwen stumbles, Lost Property charms, and Blammo impresses

The fan reaction to seeing so many new (read: female) faces in the Spider-Verse events last year was overwhelmingly positive, so the February launches of two female-led Spider-books have been highly anticipated. Unfortunately, Spider-Gwen #1 (Marvel) doesn’t land on its feet quite as gracefully as Silk did, proving…

New Boob Wars and old Miracleman among this week’s new releases

Perhaps this is an irredeemably old-fashioned notion in an age of constant relaunches—an era where nothing more than the change of a creative team is necessary to provoke a re-numbering—but the release of a 100th issue should still be a noteworthy event. Although the powers that be at the Big Two superhero publishers…

Advertisement