Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Andrew W.K. announces a new album of self-actualizing party anthems

(Image: Andrew W.K., Red Music/Sony Music, Boris Vallejo and Julie Bell)
(Image: Andrew W.K., Red Music/Sony Music, Boris Vallejo and Julie Bell)

What do you do when the endlessly enthusiastic party anthems of Andrew W.K. aren’t enough to knock you out of your day-to-day funk? Turn to the hard stuff, apparently: W.K. has just announced his first new album in years, You’re Not Alone, offering it up as a hard-rocking self-help panacea for the modern world.


The language in the press release for the new album is pretty amazing, reading like it wouldn’t be out of place on the back of a typical bookstore wellness manual:

The songs on this album follow a surprising path to self-actualization. They give the listener permission to admit their vulnerabilities, and the encouragement to feel empowered. They’re reflections on the push and pull between freedom and restriction. It’s a confirmation of everything you are, rejection of all you are not, and at times, a blurring of the difference between the two. Doubt becomes certainty, confusion becomes clarity, and the fear of life becomes the courage to live it completely. The album reveals itself through double meanings, mirrored views, each ringing equally true, even at their most severely discordant.

From most artists, that text would feel like a joke, but from W.K., it just feels like a further confirmation of his feelings about the positive power of music. Tracks on the album include “The Power Of Partying” and “Music Is Worth Living For,” suggesting that You’re Not Alone will serve as the ultimate exemplar of W.K.’s long-held ideas about the healing power of rocking out. Meanwhile, he also treated fans to an image of the record’s gorgeous watercolor album art, by fantasy artist Boris Vallejo and Julie Bell:

(Image: Andrew W.K. and Red Music/Sony Music
(Image: Andrew W.K. and Red Music/Sony Music

You’re Not Alone arrives on March 2, 2018; you can pre-order it here, and check out the track list below.

Andrew W.K.—You Are Not Alone

1. The Power of Partying

2. Music Is Worth Living For

3. Ever Again

4. I Don’t Know Anything

5. The Feeling of Being Alive

6. Party Mindset

7. The Party Never Dies

8. Give Up On You

9. Keep On Going

10. In Your Darkest Moments

11. The Devil’s On Your Side

12. Break The Curse

13. Total Freedom

14. Beyond Oblivion

15. Confusion And Clarity

16. You’re Not Alone