Photo: Jim Donnelly

Comedy fans know him as the co-creator of Adult Swim’s Home Movies and Metalocalypse, but Brendon Small is deathly serious about metal. After creating Metalocalypse’s Dethklok, Small branched out into his own, non-animated solo project, Brendon Small’s Galaktikon, in 2012. His second album under the Galaktikon name, Galaktikon II: Become The Storm, is due out tomorrow, but The A.V. Club is offering fans an exclusive stream of the album for today only.

(Update, 8/25: The stream has been taken down. We told you it was one day only.)

Featuring contributions from drummer Gene Hoglan (Testament, Death, Dark Angel) and bassist Bryan Beller (The Aristocrats, Joe Satriani, Steve Vai), Galaktikon II: Become The Storm features precision beats, melodic guitars, and gruff vocals enhanced with electronic flourishes for an intergalactic heavy-metal rush that feels like skydiving through the Milky Way.


Small is celebrating the release of Galaktikon II: Become The Storm with a free in-store signing at Meltdown Comics in L.A. tonight, followed by a record release party tomorrow night at the Hollywood Improv hosted by Small and comedian Steve Agee and featuring appearances from Anthrax’s Scott Ian, vocalist Pearl Aday, Dethklok touring musician Mike Keneally, Survivor’s Walter Ino, musician Joe Travers, and comedian Tom Lennon. (You can get tickets for and more information about that show here.) Small will also host a Reddit AMA on Saturday, August 26 at 1 p.m. PT.

Galaktikon II: Become The Storm is out tomorrow, August 25, on Megaforce Records/MRI. You can pre-order the digital, CD, and LP versions here.


Image: Megaforce

Galaktikon II: Become The Storm digital/CD track listing:

1. Some Days Are For Dying

2. Icarus Six Sixty Six

3. The Agenda

4. The Ocean Galaktik

5. My Name Is Murder

6. Become The Storm

7. Nightmare

8. Could This Be The End

9. To Kill A God

10. Exitus

11. Rebuilding A Planet