Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Listen to an unreleased Elliott Smith song from Kill Rock Stars’ Either/Or reissue

Either/Or cover art
Either/Or cover art

On February 25, 1997 Kill Rock Stars released Either/Or, the third album from Elliott Smith. At the time, Smith had built a name for himself on the back of his two studio albums and a bevy of singles, but Either/Or would mark a turning point in Smith’s career. Five of the songs from Either/Or were featured in Good Will Hunting, and the song Smith penned originally for the film, “Miss Misery,” was nominated for an Academy Award. Now, on March 10 Kill Rock Stars will release Either/Or: Expanded Edition, which will be released as a double LP, double CD, and will be available digitally.


This expanded edition features a remastered version of the album done by Larry Crane, the owner of Jackpot! studio in Portland, who was a friend of Smith’s and is now the archivist of Smith’s estate. According to The New York Times, this project began over a decade ago, when Crane hoped to release an expanded edition of Either/Or for its 10th anniversary. As Crane notes, “the bonus tracks would have swamped the album,” and the posthumous collection record, New Moon, was released instead.

In addition to the remastered album this expanded edition will feature five live tracks and four rare and unreleased songs as well. One of these songs, “I Figured You Out,” is streaming now, which is an alternate take on “I Don’t Think I’m Ever Gonna Figure It Out.” Pre-orders for Either/Or: Expanded Edition are available now, and the tracklist can be found below.

Either/Or: Expanded Edition

1. Speed Trials (remastered)
2. Alameda (remastered)
3. Ballad of Big Nothing (remastered)
4. Between the Bars (remastered)
5. Pictures of Me (remastered)
6. No Name No. 5 (remastered)
7. Rose Parade (remastered)
8. Punch and Judy (remastered)
9. Angeles (remastered)
10. Cupid’s Trick (remastered)
11. 2:45 AM (remastered)
12. Say Yes (remastered)
13. My New Freedom (Live) (unreleased)
14. Pictures Of me (Live) (unreleased)
15. Angeles (Live) (unreleased)
16. Some Song (Live) (unreleased)
17. Rose Parade (Live) (unreleased)
18. New Monkey (keys) (unreleased)
19. I Don’t Think I’m Ever Gonna Figure It Out (remixed/remastered)
20. I Figured You Out (unreleased)
21. Bottle Up And Explode (Alternate Version) (unreleased)