Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Los Angeles film critics pick Call Me By Your Name as best movie of the year

Call Me By Your Name (Photo: Sony Pictures Classics)
Call Me By Your Name (Photo: Sony Pictures Classics)

This years awards season is shaping up to be a heated competition, with no clear favorites coming out among the handful of groups that have announced their end-of-the-year lists. The National Board Of Review loved Steven Spielberg’s Oscar machine The Post, the New York Film Critics Circle preferred Greta Gerwig’s Lady Bird, and now the Los Angeles Film Critics Association has announced that its Best Picture isn’t Lady Bird or The Post but Luca Guadagnino’s Call Me By Your Name. Maybe one of those three will win the Oscar, or maybe it will be some fourth movie that nobody has given a Best Picture award to yet—though the LAFCA has lately been good at predicting the Best Picture Oscar.


The Los Angeles film critics also gave Guadagnino the Best Director award for Call Me By Your Name in a tie, with the other winner being Guillermo Del Toro for The Shape Of Water. Call Me By Your Name also got a third award, with Timothée Chalamet getting Best Actor, with The Shape Of Water getting another award with Sally Hawkins getting Best Actress. Outside of those two movies, Get Out won Best Screenplay, Willem DaFoe won Best Supporting Actor for The Florida Project, and Laurie Metcalf won Best Supporting Actress for Lady Bird.

The full list of winners (via Deadline) is below.

Best Picture: Call Me By Your Name

Best Director: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water and Luca Guadagnino, Call Me By Your Name (tie)

Best Actress: Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water 

Best Actor: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me By Your Name 

Best Foreign-Language Film: BPM (Beats Per Minute) and Loveless (tie)

Best Animated Film: The Breadwinner 

Best Screenplay: Jordan Peele, Get Out

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction Film: Faces Places

Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird

Best Editing: Lee Smith, Dunkirk

Best Production Design: Dennis Gassner, Blade Runner 2049

Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project

Best Music/Score: Jonny Greenwood, Phantom Thread

Best Cinematography: Dan Laustsen, The Shape of Water

The Douglas Edwards Award for Experimental Film: Lee Anne Schmitt, Purge This Land