Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

First night of Creative Arts Emmys award 13th and Saturday Night Live

(Photo: Getty Images, Neilson Barnard)
(Photo: Getty Images, Neilson Barnard)

The Creative Arts Emmys were held last night in Los Angeles, kicking off the biggest week of the year for the TV industry (and just a standard, boring week for the movie industry). The real Emmy Awards will be held next weekend, but last night’s ceremony took a moment to highlight the things that are just a little too boring for the real Emmys, like Best Structured Reality Program and Best Technical Direction For A Limited Series.


Like last year, the Creative Arts Emmys have been spread out over two nights, with last night’s ceremony honoring Ava DuVernay’s documentary 13th a number of times. It won Best Documentary Special, Best Writing For A Nonfiction Program, Best Motion Design, and Best Original Music And Lyrics. That last one was for the original track “Letter To The Free,” which was co-written by Common and brings him one Tony Award away from winning an EGOT. Another big winner is Saturday Night Live, which got Best Production Design and Best Technical Direction, along with a makeup award for Alec Baldwin’s Donald Trump. Samurai Jack, Adventure Time, and Bob’s Burgers also landed some animation awards, and James Corden took home a couple of Emmys for his work on the Carpool Karaoke Primetime Special and for his job hosting the Tony Awards—so maybe he can hook Common up with a Tony at some point.

The complete list of Saturday night’s winners is below, with some more details available on Variety.

Creative Arts Emmys 2017—Night One

Variety Special
Carpool Karaoke Primetime Special 2017 (CBS)

Structured Reality Program
Shark Tank (ABC)

Host for a Reality/Reality-Competition Program
RuPaul Charles (RuPaul’s Drag Race)

Documentary or Nonfiction Special 
13th (Netflix)

Documentary or Nonfiction Series
Planet Earth II (BBC America)

Animated Program
Bob’s Burgers (FOX)

Original Music and Lyrics
Common, Robert Glasper, Karriem Riggins (13th—Letter to the Free)


Short Form Nonfiction or Reality Series
Viceland At The Women’s March (Viceland)

Informational Series or Special
Leah Remini: Scientology And The Aftermath (A&E)

Meryl Streep (Five Came Back—”The Price Of Victory”)

Writing for a Variety Special
Samantha Bee, Jo Miller, Ashley Nicole Black, Patt Cassels, Eric Drysdale, Mathan Erhardt, Travon Free, Joe Grossman, Miles Kahn, and Melinda Taub (Full Frontal with Samantha Bee Presents Not the White House Correspondents’ Dinner)


Directing for a Variety Special
Glenn Weiss (The Oscars)

Lighting Design/ Lighting Direction for a Variety Special
Robert Barnhart, David Grill, Pete Radice, and Jason Rudolph (Super Bowl LI Halftime Show Starring Lady Gaga)


Casting for a Reality Program
Sasha Alpert and Megan Sleeper (Born This Way)

Costumes for Variety, Nonfiction or Reality Programming
Zaldy Goco and Perry Meek (RuPaul’s Drag Race)


Picture Editing for a Structured or Competition Reality Program
John Lim and Michael Roha (RuPaul’s Drag Race)

Cinematography for a Reality Program
Bruce Ready (Born This Way)

Hairstyling for a Multi-Camera Series or Special
Miia Kovero, Terry Baliel, Roxane Griffin, Lawrence Davis, Jill Crosby, and Joy Zapata (Hairspray Live!)


Production Design for a Variety, Nonfiction, Reality or Reality-Competition Series
Eugene Lee, Akira Yoshimura, Keith Ian Raywood, and N. Joseph DeTullio (Saturday Night Live)

Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control For A Limited Series, Movie, or Special
Charles Ciup, Billy Steinberg, Chris Hill, Bert Atkinson, Randy Gomez, Nathanial Havholm, Ron Lehman, Bettina Levesque, Dave Levisohn, Tore Livia, Mike Malone, Adam Margolis, Rob Palmer, Brian Reason, Damien Tuffereau, and Andrew Waruszewski (Hairspray Live!)


Technical Direction, Camerawork, Video Control for a Series
Steven Cimino, John Pinto, Paul Cangialosi, Len Wechsler, Eric Eisenstein, Dave Driscoll, Susan Noll, Frank Grisanti, Jeff Latonero, Ann Bergstrom, Randy Bittle (Saturday Night Live— “Host: Jimmy Fallon”)

Motion Design (Juried Award)
Beyond Magic (ABC)
13th (Netflix)

Choreography (tie)
Mandy Moore (Dancing With The Stars)
Travis Wall (So You Think You Can Dance)


Sound Editing for a Nonfiction Program
Jon Michaels, Harrison Meyle, Dan Kenyon, Will Digby and Melissa Muik (The Beatles: Eight Days a Week–The Touring Years)

Production Design for a Variety Nonfiction, Event or Award Special
Derek McLane, Joe Celli, and Jason Howard (Hairspray Live!)


Makeup for a Multi-Camera Series or Special (Non-Prosthetic)
Louie Zakarian, Amy Tagliamonti, Jason Milani, Daniela Zivcovic, Rachel Pagani, Andrew Sotomeyer (Saturday Night Live—“Host: Alec Baldwin”)

Picture Editing for Variety Program
Anthony Miale (Last Week Tonight With John Oliver)


Short Form Animated Program
Adventure Time (Cartoon Network)

Individual Achievement in Animation (Juried award)
Samurai Jack (“XCIII,” “XCII,” “XCV”)
Wander Over Yonder (“The End Of The Galaxy”)


Short Form Variety Series

The Daily Show—Between the Scenes (TheDailyShow.com)

Directing for a Nonfiction Program
Ezra Edelman (O.J.: Made In America)

Cinematography for a Nonfiction Program
Cinematography Team (Planet Earth II: Islands)


Picture Editing for a Nonfiction Program
Bret Granato, Maya Mumma, and Ben Sozanski (O.J.: Made In America)

Interactive Program
Partially Important Productions (Last Week Tonight With John Oliver)


Creative Achievement in Interactive Media Within an Unscripted Program
Meghan de Boer, Rich Preuss, Teeny Stillings, Augie Vargas, and Shelby Sundling Lathrop (The Oscars: All Access)

Innovation in Interactive Programming (Juried award)

Music Direction
Rickey Minor (Taking the Stage: African American Music And Stories That Changed America)


Documentary Filmmaking
TJ Martin, Dan Lindsay, Jonathan Chinn, and Simon Chinn (LA 92)

Character Voice-Over Performance
Seth MacFarlane (Family Guy)

Sound Mixing For a Variety Special Series or Special (tie)
59th Grammy Awards
2017 Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony


Sound Mixing For a Nonfiction Program (Single or Multi-Camera)
Chris Jenkins, Cameron Frankley, Nathan Evans, Sam O’Kell (The Beatles: Eight Days A Week—The Touring Years)

Writing for a Nonfiction Program
Ava DuVernay and Spencer Averick (13th)

Picture Editing for an Unstructured Reality Program
Ian Richardson, Tony Diaz, Eric Michael Schrader, and Matt Mercer (Life Below Zero)


Unstructured Reality Program
United Shades Of America: With W. Kamau Bell (CNN)

Special Class Program
70th Annual Tony Awards (CBS)

Lighting Design/ Lighting Direction for a Variety Series
Simon Miles, Matthew Cotter, Suzanne Sotelo and Matt McAdam (Dancing With The Stars)


[via Variety]