Halloween was two days ago, which means, of course, it’s time to start getting ready for the next batch of holidays. And the Jim Henson Company is on top of it, pairing up with Music.Film Recordings for the first-ever release of the Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas soundtrack. Although the 1977 TV movie is among the most beloved of the Muppets family of holiday specials, Paul Williams’ music has never been available for standalone seasonal listening.

That changes today, as the soundtrack makes its debut on Spotify, Apple Music, iTunes, and on CD. If you want it on vinyl, however, you’ll have to wait until November 23, when it’ll be available at participating independent record stores as part of the Black Friday edition of Record Store Day. Williams will also appear at the The Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, New York on December 9 for “An Afternoon With Paul Williams,” where he’ll discuss his work with Jim Henson and The Muppets.


To commemorate this down-home milestone in the annals of holiday delight, we’ve got an exclusive look at the Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas soundtrack above. You can also see the track listing and cover art for the release below.


Emmet Otter’s Jug-Band Christmas: Music From The Original Television Presentation

1. The Bathing Suit That Grandma Wore

2. Jam Session

3. Ain’t No Hole In The Washtub

4. When The River Meets The Sea

5. Bar-B-Que (Jug Band)

6. Carrots The Dancing Horse

7. Bar-B-Que (Yancy Woodchuck)

8. Dancing Rabbit Act

9. Squirrel Acrobatic Act

10. Our World

11. Brothers

12. Riverbottom Nightmare Band

13. Our World-Brothers

14. Our World-Brothers Club Reprise

15. When The River Meets The Sea Reprise

Bonus Track:

16. Born In A Trunk