Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Photo: Jacob Blickenstaff
Photo: Jacob Blickenstaff

The world lost an irreplaceable voice with the passing of soul singer Sharon Jones last November, but at least Jones got the chance to go into the studio one last time before her untimely death from pancreatic cancer. Today, Jones’ record label, Daptone Records, announced one last studio album from Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings, Soul Of A Woman. Described as “a lush, orchestral masterpiece,” the album was recorded at the label’s own Daptone’s House Of Soul studio in Brooklyn, in sessions held between Jones’ cancer treatments. “When she was strongest, that’s when we’d go into the studio,” bass player and producer Bosco Mann tells Pitchfork. “Sharon couldn’t phone it in, so we would only work when she was really feeling it.”


The announcement of Soul Of A Woman was accompanied by a new single, “Matter Of Time,” whose video shows Jones on the road and in the studio, full of life until the very end. You can hear that, and see the track list and cover art for Soul Of A Woman, below.

Soul Of A Woman is out November 17 on Daptone Records.

Illustration for article titled Sharon Jones  The Dap-Kings announce final studio album, iSoul Of A Woman/i

Soul Of A Woman Tracklist:

  1. Matter Of Time
  2. Sail On!
  3. Just Give Me Your Time
  4. Come And Be A Winner
  5. Rumors
  6. Pass Me By
  7. Searching For A New Day
  8. These Tears (No Longer for You)
  9. When I Saw Your Face
  10. Girl! (You Got to Forgive Him)
  11. Call On God

Share This Story

Get our newsletter