Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.
Pop culture obsessives writing for the pop culture obsessed.

Metallica announces new album, previews first single, “Hardwired”

(Image: Blackened Recordings)
(Image: Blackened Recordings)

Taking a break from serving as the basis for various viral videos about Pokémon or medieval instruments, Metallica has announced its first studio album in eight years. Hardwired…To Self-Destruct will be out on November 18 in CD, vinyl, digital, deluxe, and deluxe box set versions, on the band’s own Blackened Recordings label. To celebrate the announcement, frontman Lars Ulrich deployed the album’s first single, “Hardwired,” today on Minneapolis’s 93X rock station. (You can view the official video for the song below, despite the fact that YouTube is the devil.)

Hardwired will be Metallica’s eleventh studio album, a follow-up to 2008’s quietly well-received Death Magnetic. (Greg Fidelman, who produced Death Magnetic, is returning for this latest release.) Ulrich released a typically bombastic press statement alongside the announcement of the new double (or triple, if you’re feeling spendy) album, saying, “Putting new music out there, getting in your faces once again and all that comes with it is what we love to do more than anything else, so strap yourselves in … INCOMING!” You can pre-order the band’s new musical missile right here.

(Image: Blackened Recordings)
(Image: Blackened Recordings)

Hardwired…To Self-Destruct track list:

Disc One:

1. Hardwired

2. Atlas, Rise!

3. Now That We’re Dead

4. Moth Into Flame

5. Am I Savage?

6. Halo On Fire

Disc Two:

1. Confusion

2. Dream No More

3. ManUNkind

4. Here Comes Revenge

5. Murder One

6. Spit Out The Bone

Disc Three (Deluxe version only)

1. Lords Of Summer

2. Riff Charge (Riff Origins)

3. N.W.O.B.H.M. A.T.M. (Riff Origins)

4. Tin Shot (Riff Origins)

5. Plow (Riff Origins)

6. Sawblade (Riff Origins)

7. RIP (Riff Origins)

8. Lima (Riff Origins)

9. 91 (Riff Origins)

10. MTO (Riff Origins)

11. RL72 (Riff Origins)

12. Frankenstein (Riff Origins)

13. CHI (Riff Origins)

14. X Dust (Riff Origins)